Insecure Writers Support Group Day

 

So the August instalment of Insecure Writers is upon us. Have I been feeling insecure for the past month? Not so much insecure but I have been questioning my writing lately.

Because it seems that I only write well when I’m stressed. Ok, maybe not well but quicker; without too much effort. I don’t have those staring off into the distance moments. It’s all very automatic. I open my word processor, I set the scene up in my head and bam. Before I can even count to ten, 250 words have been typed. My fingers don’t stop. When I’m not so stressed, or worried about something, sometimes writing is the last thing I want to do.

I guess it’s like a vent/therapy session of sorts. But I want to be able to write effortlessly without having added stress in my life. You may have noticed I’ve been talking about my WIP a lot more lately. This is because life has been – to put it lightly – somewhat agitated so of course, the words have flowed freely. Is this why I’m writing such a dark story? To channel my anger and occasional sadness into it? When I first developed the idea I wasn’t in an unhappy place however it manifested rather quickly because I like the idea. The original concept of I Am The Damned is miles away from what it is now – and so much more relatable which I like.

Anyway – I guess when I really think about it, I have to accept the fact that I do write better when I am in a funk with life. I’d like to work on that though because maybe I’m subconsciously inviting negativity to my life – just so I can write! The things we do for our craft, eh?

How are you all feeling? This is the place to share and help each other as much as we can 🙂

 

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

17 Responses to “Insecure Writers Support Group Day”

  1. Interesting about subconsciously ‘inviting negativity’ into your life to get out your best work. If you are, you’re definitely not the first. Great for your art, not necessarily too good for you though! I guess it’s hard if that is the place where your best resides. I have a weird ability to write in all moods; that isn’t to say that the moods don’t make into the work, I’m sure they do, but not the point where I can distinguish a huge difference and so establish a preference. At least your in touch with yourself enough to see it.

    Like

    • Yeah, I haven’t changed at all since I was a teenager. I don’t think it’s too bad but I’d like to write that same way when I’m feeling ecstatic. I’m pretty sure I can harness that feeling eventually (like Margarita suggested below) and the right music takes me back to my teen years where I definitely had angst, Im just not a fan of writing with music on. But I’m prepared to do whatever it takes! 🙂

      Like

  2. Hmmmmm, interesting, as I’m the complete opposite! Lol

    I need to feel calm and relaxed to actually write. Funny isn’t it.

    I wish I had some words of wisdom for you, but I haven’t 😦 Perhaps it will always be that way. I remember, when I was younger, having this belief that artists and poets were somehow tortured souls. Perhaps that’s true. I also remember Richard Ashcroft (The Verve) saying that he found it easier to write songs when he was depressed.

    (((((hugs)))))

    Xx

    Like

    • I’ve read that about Richard Ashcroft too. I’m sure there are thousands of tortured writers out there…..I don’t really want to take that path though! But I have noted that my writing is so much more emotive when I’m not happy. I want to do that even when I feel like I’m on top of the world! 🙂

      Like

      • Yeah, I can understand that 🙂

        Perhaps you need to try to write more when you’re feeling on top of the world, and less when you’re feeling stressed?

        I just don’t want to even pick up a pen when I’m stressed 😉

        Xx

        Like

  3. While I definitely don’t ask for terrible things to happen in my life, they inevitably do. Like you, I’ve found that writing continues to flow, and in fact becomes even more important to me, as if it’s a lifeline I need to make sense of things.
    Maybe it’s my brain’s way of coping. Good observation!

    Like

    • It’s something that has followed me my whole life. I channelled all the teen angst into tormented poetry, short stories. I do find comfort in writing so it does make sense that it’s my go-to when I’m feeling down.

      Like

  4. delanceystewart Reply August 2, 2012 at 00:30

    You’ve probably gotten it before, but I just nominated you for the “inspiring blogger” award… rules on my post today. 🙂

    Like

  5. Maybe it’s about harnessing that energy when you’re in a funk to practice writing, and then just writing no matter how you feel. Even though we’re told to work from the inside out, I find that sometimes I need to go from the outside in. If I see some kind of product, it’s easier to create more…maybe? xoM

    Like

    • Absolutely. I think I’m getting a little better – the other night, I listened to some of my old favourite bands which were quite grungy and edgy and managed to capture a strange angsty feeling. Now, this was the same music I listened to as a teen so all those emotions came back. Even though I like to write in silence, I may just use the music to try and tap into the negative and see how that goes. 🙂

      Like

  6. I’ve heard a lot of writers say this. Maybe because when life is hard, you’re venting out all of your frustrations so your writing becomes a form of therapy? Who knows. It could also just be the type of writing your doing. You’re writing a book about a dark person with major issues, so in order to get into her head you need to really feel it.

    Like

    • Thats very true. I certainly don’t walk around with the same thoughts as my main character, but I do feel I need to ‘tune in’ to her when I sit down to write. I find it easier to tune in when I’m not so happy myself.

      Like

  7. I always feel a little more secure when I see that other are insecure…

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Insecure Writers Day – September | The View Outside - September 5, 2012

    […] Insecure Writers Support Group Day (poetaofficium.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a comment