Open Mic Night…The Poet’s Corner

 

Ok – I’m a day late. But I have good reason. I fell asleep next to my daughter while laying with her as she went to sleep! I haven’t been well these past few days and the night before last, I had a terrible nights’ sleep so I guess last night I made up for it!

I have made a bit of a decision…..I’m going to stop sharing scenes from my WIP for a while. No major issues behind the decision – only that I want to write a bit more, piece the scenes together so that they form more of a sequence than they do now. I’ll come back to sharing in the next month or so 🙂

A few days ago, I came across an old notebook with poetry that I wrote in my late teens/early 20’s and I would like to share some of it with you. And I invite everyone to do the same! I haven’t written a poem since then (nearly 20 years!!) so this stuff is all very very raw, very young. But I thought it’d be fun to share. After all, my blog is called Poeta Officium – which translates from Latin in to ‘poet office’.

If you have any poetry you would like to share please do! I will be dedicating the next few weeks to poetry of all kind. I’d love to hear from you 🙂

Your hands
Will caress
My essence
You have blessed
Do you want me?
Ever will you need me?
A question that hovers
Deep in the moonlight
Stars will reflect
In the blackest of midnight
Answer my prayer
My only beloved
Reach out
And feel
The strong wind above
Yes, I have cried
In my heart
I have died
Your gaze will uplift me
Your love
Resurrect me
Your smile is enchanting
Forever
Everlasting
Your soul I do keep
Entwined with mine
Wishing in time
My life
With thine

 

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

21 Responses to “Open Mic Night…The Poet’s Corner”

  1. Hi – do you know about 20 lines or Less? It’s a WordPress blog for just that 20 lines or less and they take poetry. It’s a nice little community which you might like. If you already know or aren’t interested, sorry to mention it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Wow! What a lovely and sincere poem.

    I just stumbled upon your blog and instantly loved it. I should be digging in to read more of your posts because you’ve got the talent! Oh, I am also a member of CritiqueCircle. What a small world.

    Like

    • Oh thank you so much! That’s lovely. Thank you for following – I’ll be checking yours out too 🙂 Yes, I only recently joined Critique Circle. I haven’t had a proper look on there yet as I haven’t had the time but I’ll definitely look out for you! 🙂

      Like

      • That will be nice! I go by the username Frychild at CC, though I haven’t made any post there as of late. But then, yours will be something I would like to look forward to.

        Happy writing, Virginia.

        Like

      • I’m at Critique Circle as well! If you want to buddy me, I go under ‘kirstenb’ over there. 🙂

        Like

  3. Hope you’re feeling a bit better now honey 🙂

    Lovely poem V!

    Xx

    Like

  4. Hi – just spotted your face on the contributors list at 20 Lines or Less – jolly good – Welcome!

    Like

  5. Your poem is so sweet! Thank you for sharing it.

    I totally understand not posting your draft right now. What I’ve been posting on open mic night is revised draft, and I was always surprised by how polished your WIP was! My first drafts are often not very cohesive, but I like them that way. Early drafts are my sandbox and it gets messy in there sometimes.

    I’ll be looking forward to more poems. 🙂

    Like

  6. What a lovely poem! I haven’t written poetry for some time (since my teenage years) and I’ve got some old tattered pieces of paper somewhere that I now want to dig out 🙂

    I totally understand not sharing the WIP for a while – but I’m looking forward to reading your work when you post it up here again.

    Like

    • Thanks Dianne 🙂 Well most of the poetry I’ll be sharing is from my teenage years too….which I really had to think hard about because they mean something to me – publishing these pieces is like putting my heart on a table top and giving someone a knife….’here, take a few stabs if you want’….. Before now, I have never shown anyone these poems – not one person. So it was a big decision for me. So dig those out, share them on here with me 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

