Tell Me Your Thoughts…Social Networking – Help or Hindrance?

And what I mean by that is, does social networking like Twitter, LinkedIn, Stumble Upon etc help the writer get noticed (and therefore, potentially published) without doing the manual hard yards of submitting countless manuscripts, chasing editors/publishers ala the days of yore? If you don’t have a lot of time to get online, are you at a disadvantage?

I was having a chat with a writer friend of mine over the weekend and she mentioned a conversation she had with an author she met a little while ago. Of course, the subject of exposure came up and my friend asked the author about using Twitter as a means of promotion. In other words – how do we use Twitter to our advantage? The response was ‘just keep tweeting’. Make yourself known. Re-tweet blog posts, put yourself out there.

OK, that seems easy enough. But the majority of people have jobs, families, extra curricular activities – on top of writing, editing, blogging, it gets very overwhelming to stay online for longer periods. Not to mention technical glitches – not being able to get online. What then?

This author mentioned it was through all this exposure that she got noticed by a publisher.ย So does this mean that I have a lesser chance of getting noticed because I don’t have time to tweet and link and stumble? What happened to good old-fashioned manuscript submissions?

What do you think?

 

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

13 Responses to “Tell Me Your Thoughts…Social Networking – Help or Hindrance?”

  1. Absolutely! It gets your work out there, it gets you noticed! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I think it probably helps in the long run, but you’re right – it takes a lot of time and persistence.

    Like

  3. I don’t use twitter a lot because I find it really hard to understand. My exposure came from wining writing awards and I’m a true believer in them for getting yourself out there and being noticed by publishers. I’m also pretty lax at using FB as well ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

    • I have a FB page for Poeta Officium but I don’t have any activity on it – what are you meant to do? I would think a blog would get you more exposure?
      Im still kicking myself for not entering the local writing competition – I had the idea, everything. I agree that its probably a better way of getting noticed.

      Like

  4. There is something to be said for the social networking platforms. They do help you get noticed. That cannot be denied. DianneGray also has a very good point, which I will build on and say just generally the more you put your work out for wide-spread commentary/viewing the more notice you will get. A reputation will be started. It is also very useful in receiving feedback on your work and finding the areas in which you may need to improve. That will make your writing better and good writing stands out, in my opinion. I personally think that a two pronged approach is best. Equal parts social network trumpeting and constant work on the craft of writing. Let’s face it, now it is easy to publish a given piece of work, lots and lots of people are doing it. Not everyone’s story is a diamond. If you put the time into making your piece shine and the time to carefully market it, you will probably have more success. (Depending on how you define success ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Do you use Twitter? I’ve got 30 something followers but not one of them has ever come to the blog via a tweet. To me, Twitter is very self absorbed in that respect. It’s more ‘what can I get out there’ as opposed to ‘what can I discover’. Thats my experience with it anyways ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. I’m in the process of raising my profile and twittering heaps! It takes a long time building but am beginning to see the rewards of my involvement, though yet to see a growth in people buying my story. Time is a factor more than I anticipated but it’s worth doing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • If you could share some tips to succeed with Twitter, that would be great! Honestly, just can’t get my head around Twitter other than ‘connecting’ with famous people! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • I’m still working it out but slowly getting there! Basically, set up a cycle to follow, retweet fellow writers on a daily basis plus readers. It does take time. I’ve only been at it for two weeks. The aim is to grow your followers who will in turn become potential readers for your work. I do recommend reading The First Ten Steps by M.R. Matias. It was like a light bulb moment.
        Hope that helps a little.
        cheers

        Like

      • Thanks – it really does help. Will be checking out The First Ten Steps for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Author and Social Networking | Imagineer-ing - January 13, 2013

    […] Tell Me Your Thoughts…Social Networking – Help or Hindrance? (poetaofficium.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

