Tell Me Your Thoughts….Are You And Your WIP Exclusive?

** before we begin, yes, I did change the title of Sunday Session. I think this new title introduces the theme of the evening in a more obvious way 🙂 

Ok. So. Tell me. Do you tend to juggle a few projects at once or do you prefer to stick by your work in progress through its life cycle from planning to publishing all in one go? Have you done both? Which one works best for you?

Personally, I’m a monogamous gal, I’ve tried the juggle but found that I lost too much focus 🙂

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

19 Responses to “Tell Me Your Thoughts….Are You And Your WIP Exclusive?”

  1. Like the new title! 🙂

    Usually, no. But at the moment I am juggling my NaNo story with my WIP. When November’s over, I’ll go back to my WIP. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m definitely a juggler! And not just between stories…there’s also songs, poems, scripts, etc! But I like it this way, my subconscious seems to direct me to the right place at the right time. That said, I am trying to be a bit more faithful when I get into a piece now so that I can actually finish stuff.

    Like

    • This was how I discovered that I couldn’t juggle. Stories remained unfinished and I felt a huge gaping hole of not having accomplished anything. I get so into my stories that they consume me enough as it is. I have a house to maintain, if I had more than one story to write I would shrivel up and die a long and dry death 🙂

      Like

  3. I try to juggle but it doesn’t work for me. I get frustrated with lack of progress. It feels like I am playing the whack-a-mole game and not hitting anything. Which is unfortunate. However I cannot help myself. So, I allow myself little breaks in the WIP in order to write a short story or flash fiction. That helpse build the next major WIP and retain ideas I have for the other projects. For instance right now I have three writing and one drawing projects on my mind. I am to the point where I am going to write a short story for one of the writing projects in order to get some ideas out. There just doesn’t seem to be enough time in the day to accomplish all the writing I would like, and still have time for the important things (wife and child).

    Like

    • I hear you loud and clear! I’m a one story girl and for the same reasons as you. On top of everything else, including this blog, I just don’t have the time to dedicate to more than one project. For instance, there is a local writing competition I’d like to enter but by the time I’ve remembered to start it’s almost midnight!

      Like

  4. I’d love to stick to one project at a time, I’m trying to lol. But I’ve got 4 novels on the go now, all in different stages. Right, that’s it, I’m not starting anything else until I’ve sorted this lot out! Lol

    Remind me I said that next year 😉

    Xx

    Like

  5. Juggling seems to work for me and keep me motivated. However I suppose I might make more notable progress if I focused on one project at at time. Or would I? Not sure.

    Like

    • While I can’t juggle projects, I do think that maybe focusing on one story isn’t always great idea and I should give the WIP a rest to refresh the mind. I don’t have any other thoughts about a different story at the moment though so I can’t even experiment!

      Like

  6. I am such a juggler I should be in the circus, Virginia!

    I jungle daily and start one thing then see something shiny and go on to something else.

    One day I will be organised (maybe!) 😀

    Like

  7. I wish I could stick with one project to completion! I do finish drafts though, and put them aside, but I’d like to finish a revision and send something out because then I wouldn’t feel so scattered.
    Then maybe I could say that I’m prolific! 😉

    Like

  8. Was a monogamist but now I am working on three projects. It’s a bit of juggle but challenges the ole brain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

