Goals For The Week

 

I don’t have much to report this week goals-wise so I’ll probably keep this one brief. It’s also after midnight and I’ve had a busy day of celebrating a birthday party (and losing at a board game!) so I’m quite done for. My bed is calling my name……

But, it will have to wait for a minute while I go over my goals – from the previous week and for next week. I have a feeling I need to revise again because daily goals just don’t work for me. A couple of weeks ago I announced that I was going to write every day. No word count, just as long as I was writing. Well, to be honest, I haven’t written a single word in this time. Back when there wasn’t a definite goal? I was tapping out 1-2k words every few days. So, new goal? Ditch the daily goals. Completely. I know I want to write. I know what pushes me to write, what my muse needs to get in the mood to write.

It’s probably my natural tendency to rebel to boundaries…..no matter how loose they are. So I’m going back to not having a goal. Exciting, isn’t it?

The goals I will allow myself are non writing ones. Like reading/finishing a book or working on ideas/new story lines, things like that. For instance, I am reading a book at the moment that has enticed me so far however it is getting to that part of the book where it lulls. No mans land. The ‘do I stay or do I go’ portion of a novel that annoys the heck out of me. Normally when this happens, I ditch the book. Unfortunately I am not a very persevering reader. However, I am going to push through it this time. Make a change. I could be missing out on a really good story here. So this is my goal: To do something I don’t normally do which is read through the ‘brick wall’ of a novel. Wish me luck!

And good luck with your goals for the week! I’d love to hear what’s on your list 🙂

 

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

2 Responses to “Goals For The Week”

  1. Interesting that you don’t respond well to word count goals.
    I thought I would hate working with a timer, but now I’ve found that I can’t work without it. I need to know when to stop and take a break–or need to know that I will be taking a break regardless of my lack of progress. I guess that’s why word count goals work well for me. I know that regardless of the so-called quality of my words, after a certain number of them I will have achieved a writing goal.
    Fortunately, I’m usually pretty happy with the words I do get. 🙂

    On my list this week? More revision, an hour or so every night. And a blog post for the IWSG!

    Like

    • Oh, IWSG!! It’s in a couple of days time. Gee time flies doesn’t it?
      Yeah, I really don’t know why I go the opposite with word count goals. It’s not that it’s too much pressure….I don’t know why to be honest.

      Like

Leave a Reply

