Goals For The Week…And Beyond

I can’t believe Saturday has come around so fast. We are officially in holiday mode (well, the kids are) and again, not a lot of writing was done this week.

I have, however, made a decision. Drumroll. Ok, so it’s not all that dramatic but every time I look at my current word count and I see 13,712 words, I get extremely motivated to keep writing. Which is a good thing – of course – but like I mentioned before; I haven’t written anything this week. And do you know why? It’s because I haven’t made it a priority. Sure, I’ve been thinking about plotting this scene and researching for that scene but it’s not been a concrete ‘I will write tonight’ decision. Which brings me back to the drumroll…..

I am going to write every night. I’ve estimated that if I do this I could have my manuscript ready by early next year. I’ve set myself a goal of March. 80k words by March 15. That’s reasonable enough isn’t it? I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself though so if I miss a couple of nights during the week I wont fall too far behind my goal.

I’m feeling rather urgent about my WIP, that I’m missing out on the inspiration that comes once I start typing. It needs to be done – so it will!

So let’s give a big cheers to a successful week of goal hitting for us all!

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

14 Responses to “Goals For The Week…And Beyond”

  1. Thank you for the ping.
    Good luck with your goals for this week and beyond! 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes, that’s a reasonable goal and you can do it without beating yourself up. Very smart to allow for unforeseen downtime! You go, girl! xoxoM

    Like

  3. That is an awesome goal!
    If you’re like me, there will be nights when you think what you write would be better left unwritten, but setting the goal to get words anyway can bring the most unexpected surprises! I’m cheering you on. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Kirsten! Yes, I’m very much like that but I’m slowly learning that this isnt exactly a negative. Sure, it may not be the best writing but like you said, something exciting could come out of it! 🙂

      Like

  4. I’ll be right here with you, reading every word and I wish you the best on achieving your goal.
    Sincerely,

    Like

  5. Have you thought about setting yourself a daily word count honey? That’s what I like about Nanowrimo, and I guess, why it works so well for me 🙂

    Good luck! Xx

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On setting word count targets | Emily's Tea Leaves - September 24, 2012

    […] Goals For The Week…And Beyond (poetaofficium.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

