Open Mic Night

Tonight’s Open Mic session comes one day late. Can I be honest with you all? I didn’t realise that yesterday was Tuesday! Hand on heart, that is the god honest truth. I didn’t think it was Monday or Wednesday either. I just didn’t think it was Tuesday. On the up side, I was working on my assignment so at least I spent the night being productive. Assignment is done and dusted! Hurrah!!

Now, on to my beloved WIP. I haven’t done a lot of writing this past week. Honestly (again) I wasn’t feeling it. I have been very busy with other things and by the evening I’ve been very far removed from Emma – I think I’ve mentioned before that it takes a lot of deep emotional internalizing to write this woman and some nights I just don’t have the energy to do it.

So tonight I’m going to share with you a scene between Emma and her sister Rose that I wrote a little while ago. This scene is actually the one before the scene I posted last week (the one between Emma and her brother). I’ve decided that Emma and Rose are going to have a very strained, love-hate relationship. Rose is the youngest child and likes to think she is the charmed one…..anyway, I hope you enjoy this little snippet šŸ™‚

She sat at the foot of my bed. Staring. She was uncomfortable.
This would be the second time I have seen her in almost 8 months of me being locked away. I knew she had more important things going on in her life, but……
Did I not mean anything to her?
Why did I think this was going to be a good idea?
‘So, ‘ she said softly. ‘Are you ok? How’re you doing?’
I shrugged. ‘I’m ok,’
I wanted to talk to her about what had happened. Was Adam alive? Was he actually alive and well and living his life?
Isn’t this why I asked Gary to call her for me?
‘Rose……’ The words were difficult. ‘Look, I know that you don’t ever lie to me…..’
My tone of voice sparked an immediate interest in her. Knowing she was needed made her feel gloriously self-righteous. She leant forward, placed her arms across her chest. Her eyes narrowed.
God, she was so full of herself. But I needed her now. I needed to know what really happened.
I took a deep breath. ‘Rose, I have to know what actually went on between me and Adam,’
Her brow furrowed. She was confused. ‘Huh?’Ā 
‘He came to visit me….I thought he was dead……’ I pleaded silently, my eyes screaming out for help. ‘Rosey, please, tell me what happened, I don’t know what to believe anymore,’ My voice cracked with sorrow.
She looked away for a moment, unsure of what to say. ‘You’re getting better, the doc told Mum that you’re getting better every week,’
‘That’s not what I asked,’
She nodded her head. Her silvery headband caught the light and I noticed her mousey brown hair was uncoloured. Very odd considering how vain she was. ‘Well….’ She was searching for the right thing to say. ‘You had a big fight, you went to Adam’s house, around midnight I think…..’ Her voice trailed softly, recalling the events of the evening.
As she spoke, I kept getting flashes of Adams living room. He was sitting on his brown leather couch, the look on his face….angry. Bewildered. Tired.
Was I standing? I think I was. Maybe by the fireplace…? Was it then that I killed him? Or the next day?
How did I do it?
Did I actually do it?
‘They came to get you around 2 in the morning,’
Her words roused me back to the present.
‘Who?’
‘The people from here,’
‘Who called them?’
She shrugged. ‘I think Adam called Dave, so maybe it was him? I’m not sure,’
‘Dave? Why the hell did he get involved?’ Our wonderful older brother. The most unreliable son of a bitch to ever walk the face of the earth. He deserved to die more than Adam did.
A thought occurred to me. ‘Wait a minute. Did he call The Pines? Did he put me in here?’ My heart rate was going up.
‘Look, I don’t – ‘
‘He did, didn’t he? Rosey, don’t lie to me. He always said that I needed psychiatric help – that prick always said I was crazy. Did that motherf**er have me committed?’ At this point, I would expect my panic attack to manifest or I would buzz Gary and tell my sister to get lost.
But nothing happened. I could feel my heart slowly stabilising. My breathing became normal. For the first time in a very long time, I regained composure without the need of a paper bag or drugs.
What was going on?
I looked at my little sister for a while. I watched her as she made a mockery of small talk. I watched her as she kept looking at the clock. I watched her as her interest in being with me waned.
Why did I think this was a good idea?
Because once upon a time in our lives we were close. We were happy in each others company.
Now she had Russell, she was getting married at Christmas and it was all she could think about.
I did not fit into her life anymore.
I asked her to leave.
I asked my useless waste of space little sister to get the hell out of my sight.
I was wrong about asking Rose for the truth.
If I wanted the truth, I would have to start looking within.
If I wanted the truth, I would have to talk to David.

 

 

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

4 Responses to “Open Mic Night”

  1. Great work, Virginia šŸ™‚ I’ve tagged you in the ‘look’ challenge if you’re interested šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. The inside of Emma’s head is a brutal place to be, but always honest. I’m looking forward to more, so I hope you get a chance to do more writing. šŸ™‚
    (BTW, I had some trouble linking here from my email, not sure why, so I had to track this down in my reader. Just so you know.)

    Like

  3. I’m so so happy that you ‘get’ Emma! I know I’ve mentioned this before but she’s such a complex character, it really takes it out of me when I write her. So I’m pleased my efforts are fruitful šŸ™‚ Oh and thanks for the heads up, I had some trouble with upgrading my blog (have downgraded again, too much effort) so hopefully it’s all good by now šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

