The Sunday Session…What Are Your Thoughts On…

Your Muse.

Mine at the moment is Greek music. My WIP is such an emotionally driven story that I have to be in the right frame of mind to write it. Greek songs are classic tragedies, so emotive. So full of passion. The lyrics are dripping with heartache, jealousy, over-the-top devotion. They don’t describe ‘love’. They describe ecstasy. The singer isn’t sad – they are distressed, they are suffering, they are wounded. It’s fantastic stuff – not only for the purpose of writing but I actually do love Greek music (being half Greek has nothing to do with it….) šŸ™‚

So when I’m feeling a little bland and very far removed from my WIP, I’ll just whip out my favourite Greek singer and before the album is through, I’ve created some fiery scenes and intense dialogue.

Does your muse change according to what you write? Is it an image, a person, a feeling?

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

19 Responses to “The Sunday Session…What Are Your Thoughts On…”

  1. I may need to check into some Greek music for my iphone. šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Interesting! I’ve never listened to greek music.

    My muse is strangers – they’re walking talking story prompts. They have emotions that inspire stories, relationships that inspire stories, conversations that inspire stories, appearances that inspire stories etc šŸ™‚

    ~ JLT

    Like

  3. I still can’t find my muse! šŸ˜‰

    Good for you honey, I’m so jealous! Lol

    Xx

    Like

  4. My muse is the open night sky – it seems to play a symphony all its own. And then they’re the moon ā€“ Iā€™m not sure what it is about the moon, but it is a constant inspiration to me šŸ˜€

    Like

  5. The landscape around me, music on heavy rotation through my Zune.

    Like

  6. My Muse is (not surprisingly if you knew me IRL), music, music and more music. Characters are summoned up by songs, and once they appear a playlist sets them into motion.
    Other things the Muse likes are long walks in the woods, dark nights, and coffee. Oh, and movies and pictures. I love to browse digital art, or sometimes the Muse will demand to see pictures of random things–once it was top hats and snuffboxes, another time it was posters from the Summer of Love or VW Beetles. Crazy stuff, but loads of fun. šŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Got a fondness for Enya as I don’t speak Gaelic even though I live in Scotland and so the words aren’t intrusive, other than that anything instrumental, movie soundtracks, without words. Now and then if a particular song has stuck in my head I might play that but I also like to write in silence.

    Like

  8. It’s great that you have a ready source of inspiration, Virginia. I like Zorba the Greek, which is great to dance to, but too fast for writing. My mother liked Nana Mouskouri and Demis Roussos. I used to like doing a parody of ‘My friend the wind’, kaftan and all, but that was years ago. šŸ™‚

    My muse is psychology. I find relationships and the way characters grow, change and interact fascinating.

    Like

    • Heh heh….good ol’ Demis. I remember my mum and her sisters mucking around, doing that plummy falsetto that only Demis can master – it was hilarious. So is your mum Greek or do you guys just like Greek music? šŸ™‚

      Like

      • I really don’t know much about Greek music other than ones I mentioned. My mother liked all sorts of music, but mostly classical. My father used to work with a couple of Greek brothers and our family went to one of their parties when I was very young. I still remember the amazing food! My daughter-in-law’s father is Greek and my brother and his wife are currently on holidays in Greece before heading off to Santorini for a week or so.

        Like

Leave a Reply

