Goals For The Week…..+ A Bit Of A Whinge…..

Let me start off by saying ……..

There. All better.

Now, I’m going to explain why I had to do that. For those of you that don’t know, I’m currently completing a certificate in family history studies (which is a great hobby of mine). I’m at the tail end of this course – my final exams are in December. If I pass with enough credits, I can then apply for the Diploma course. If I get accepted and pass that course, I then become an accredited genealogist. Which is extremely cool. However the journey to success is always paved with bits out of a garbage can, broken glass that you have to try to step over, is it not? And what do I mean by that…….??

Every assignment has been a review. Every. Single. One. First it was critical. Then it was personal. Then it was for a magazine. Then a dvd…..My latest one? For a biographical encyclopedia. Please! This girl has needs. She wants to do some family research! Give me a family, any family. Dates, names, places, I beg you.

On the upside, I have a feeling my last assignment will be research based. At least, I hope it is. Otherwise I’ll be graduating as an accredited reviewer of stuff.

Ok. The goals. The writing goals. Well, I’m not sure if you’ve noticed my little word-o-meter on my home page which is tracking my WIP’s word count. I have to manually update it but at the moment, I’m at just over 13k words which I am really stoked about πŸ™‚ I haven’t done much writing this past week, and with my assignments’ deadline looming I need to get a crack on that tonight. However I have planned some new scenes and I can’t wait to get started on those. So that’s goal no.1

Goal no.2 is to finish my assignment. My third goal will be to get mentally prepared for the upcoming school holidays (in a weeks time). Always a busy, loud, busy, extremely loud 2 weeks. Oh! I almost forgot. I have recently discovered Writer magazine at my local library. I’ve taken out 3 editions, have looked through one, and I’d like to get through the other 2 by the end of the week. They’re a great resource for writers of all calibres. If you haven’t yet had a look through, I highly suggest it if you get the chance. So that is my actual third goal; read Writer magazine and take down notes.

Well, there you have it. My goals and a whinge πŸ™‚ How are you all going with goals this week? Let me know πŸ™‚

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

10 Responses to “Goals For The Week…..+ A Bit Of A Whinge…..”

  1. Okay, out of all the interesting stuff you wrote, the one that tweaked my curiosity is: school holidays coming up? 2 weeks? Already? So, I’m curious, how do school holidays work out in Australia? Here in NYC, our schools have just re-opened for the fall term. Although our students do have long weekends this week and next week because due our large Jewish population the High Holy Days are observed, other than another long weekend for Thanksgiving the end of November, no breaks till Christmas…just wondering! xoxoM

    Like

    • Well, our school year in Australia is from the end of January till the end of December and in between, every 2.5 months we have 2 week holidays that mark the end of a term. So, for example, these holidays coming up are for the end of term 3. When school resumes in October, it will be term 4. At the end of term 4, we’ll have the ‘big’ holidays that go for 6 weeks. These are our summer holidays. Then, it’s back to school on January 29 (or 30) where the new school year begins. My son is currently in year 3 and my daughter will be starting first year of school next year. You guys have 3 months off for the summer, don’t you? Or is it 2 months? When does the school year in the US start? xxx

      Like

      • Each state/municipality has its own specific schedule. There is no national uniformity as there seems to be in Australia. In NYC, the public schools start on Thursday after Labor Day, which is the first Monday in September. There are a few long weekends/days off to observe Rosh Hoshanah, Yom Kippur, Columbus Day, Thanksgiving, and one or two half-days for parent/teacher conferences. Then the Christmas break usually goes from the Friday prior to Christmas to the Monday after New Year’s. There’s the Martin Luther K. Jr. celebration in January, and then the midwinter break for a week, usually about the 2nd week in February. Spring Break around Easter for a week, and barring other sundry long weekends and half-days, the school year ends the end of June.

        Universities each have their own academic calendar, as do private schools. I know in Georgia, where my mother lives, the kids go back to school in August and finish in May.

        The Aussie system makes much more sense to me! xoxoM

        Like

      • To further illustrate, in Pennsylvania our schools start depending on what county of the state you live in. My son started August 29th. He’ll have a couple of three day weekends between now and Thanksgiving (fourth thursday in Nov.) Then he’ll be off for Thurs/Friday and then the following Mon/Tues for hunting season. Which is apparently a reason to miss school. Which I’ve never understood. Then the rush to Christmas holiday. He will finish the school year in the first week of June and be off until the end of August.

        Like

  2. Good luck with the assignment honey. Grit teeth, it will all be worth it in the end….but in the meantime, whinge away! πŸ™‚

    Xx

    Like

  3. Congratulations, Virginia, you’re well on your way– both with your studies and with your writing! It is so encouraging to visit and see a writer setting constant goals for herself and meeting them. I think goals are what I need more of in my own process! Since I started trying to write 1,000 words I day I have only made it about half of the time (other times I make 600-850), but always the push has been a good thing. Today I not only wrote 1,000 words but finished the first draft of chapter 8! That whole chapter in only 4 days– that’s a record for me πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. I don’t like assignments either – totally understand how you feel. Best of luck with it πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t mind so much if we did something different from time to time. I kid you not – all we seem to do are reviews. No challenge there whatsoever :S

      Like

Leave a Reply

