Goals For The Week (And A Little Taster Of ‘I Am The Damned’)

Last Saturday (before my jaunt to Sydney for a couple of days) I posted 2 goals for the week. No. 1 was to write 1500 words of my WIP and the second was to develop a religious problem for my main character.

I only achieved a quarter of those goals. Which I’m not too fussed about because I don’t think I want to put a religious spin to my story after all. I thought about how I could introduce it and realistically it would seem too far-fetched and out-of-place. My main character, Emma, lives in a psychiatric ward and is battling within her own mind; I don’t want a lot of outside influences to intrude on this. The main focus of the story is her struggle with her mental disorders – if you throw religion into that, well, I just don’t think it will blend all that smoothly.

The positive is that I managed to write 536 words the other night. Ok, so I didn’t quite reach the 1500 word mark but I was very pleased with the end result. Dreading the re-read the next morning, I was pleasantly surprised that Emma’s true voice is starting to manifest. It’s very exciting! Here’s a little snippet…….

I want to kiss him. I really want to kiss him. But I feel like I can’t.
His lips pale in the light. His eyes closed – is he dreaming? I wonder if I can ask him.
‘Are you dreaming, my love?’
He lies still, his black hair motionless. Not surprising seeing as it wasn’t a particularly windy day.
I sit back against the wall and wait. And think. Should I cry? Will they believe me?
What has he done?
Why did he do this? Am I to blame?
He did blame me once, for missing his train. Is that why he did this?
I looked at him again, a bird’s eye view of a perfect face. I want to touch him. It feels like that first time I met him, 2 years ago. When I saw him cross the road and he dropped his – what was it? Wallet? Phone? I can’t remember.

Nonetheless, I ran after him, picked it up and gave him the – whatever it was.
He smiled. I smiled. Then I forgot my name for a second. He asked me and I forgot. I laughed and told him I forgot my name and then he laughed and we just laughed and laughed.
I can’t remember the last time we laughed like that. It was pretty much down hill from about a week after that. Why we stayed together is anyones guess. Maybe he wanted me to kill him.


This really opened a whole new, meaty window of lust and hatred – my favourite mix to write about. When I first thought of this story, I wanted Emma to be a bit of a psychopath – which she is – but as I keep writing her, a more passionate, lustful person is forging her way out of my mind. This passion is what motivates her. The lust is what drives her. Her unfortunate mind is what makes her. That’s her downfall.

So. Back to the goals. This week, I want to…..:

*Keep to the 1500 word count by this time next week

*Print out what I have written so far and put a sequence to it.

*Finish my current book Cross Bones by Kathy Reichs (I’m almost there) and start her first novel, Deja Dead. My aim is to read all of the Temperance Brennan series. I think I only have about 4 more books to go.

Ok, that’s one more goal added to the list but the last one is super simple. I’ll start that as soon as I’ve finished writing this post šŸ™‚

Do you have any goals you’d like to tackle this week?


About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

10 Responses to “Goals For The Week (And A Little Taster Of ‘I Am The Damned’)”

  1. good set of goals. Looks pretty obtainable, which is a good thing. As for my own goals this week, I would like to sketch and possibly ink the cover of ‘A Chemical Confusion’, start formatting the multiple files down to one, post two more parts for ‘A Dirigible Disaster’ and start my latest project. I might be over reaching a bit…

    Your snippet was good. Nicely phrased and I could detect some of the cracks in Emma. Keep it up!

    Like

    • Thanks, yeah, she’s really starting to show herself now, its great šŸ™‚
      I’ve got such a packed day, if I set my goals too high I know I wont reach them at all. 1500 words doesn’t seem like much but for me, some weeks, I barely get on the computer to write. However, I’m writing in bed now a lot more and that seems to be working. Last night I wrote 750 words so I’ll be hitting that goal for sure.

      Good luck with yours this week. Over reaching? Nah, challenges keep us on our game šŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Seems you accomplished more than a quarter of your goals for last week: you decided on a change of direction, and you probably wrote more than you would have if you hadn’t set the 1500 word goal. Congratulations! I like your character exposition. My mind doesn’t go that way, so I’m looking forward to watching yours unfold! šŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thanks Margarita. I’m having a lot of fun writing her. And I’m glad I didn’t give her any more drama – I think she’s got enough on her plate as it is! šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Oooooo, very interesting šŸ™‚

    Good luck with your goals this week honey….just thinking about mine at the moment lol

    Xx

    Like

  4. I’m probably a bit late on this, but I loved the snippet. I really felt like I was inside Emma’s head, and empathized with her.

    Like

    • Thanks, I’m so pleased you said that! This is exactly what I want the reader to feel – empathy. Yes, she comes across as this vicious monster but deep down all she wants is to be heard. šŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Okay just a thought but why not let emma tell it in her own way but have a second character to counter her versions with what was actually happening maybe almost as if they are reading her medical notes you could juxtapose her passion with the clinical anaylsis

    Like

    • This is a VERY good idea, Paula and I honestly didnt ever think of doing that. I may try a chapter or two and see how it fits into the story. Thanks for the suggestion! šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

