Know Thyself Challenge: Days 14, 15, 16; I Fear Writer’s Block

I’ve back after my little break. It was my daughter’s birthday party yesterday so I spent a couple of nights planning/making a test run cake/decorating test run cake/filling the goody bags and basically trying to stay ahead of schedule. I’m pleased to say it worked.

But we are all knackered now! On the other hand, I am very eager to get back to the Know Thyself Challenge! Today, I’m going to squash days 14, 15 and 16 together so here goes:

Day 14: Share Strategies For Overcoming Writer’s Block

I try to keep writing. I read other’s struggles with writer’s block and how they get over theirs. I read. And the minute an idea creeps into my head I stop whatever I am doing and write it down. Basically, I try to keep the juices flowing. If I find I am stuck for inspiration and I’m in front of the laptop (or looking down at my notebook) I step away from there, I go and do something else because the more I focus on whats NOT there the less I focus.

Day 15: Which Writer Or Teacher Most Influenced Your Work?

I honestly cannot answer this one. I know that Shakespeare’s’ sonnets move me but I’ve not been influenced by him. It inspires me. But not influences.

Day 16: As A Writer, What Is Your Biggest Fear And How Do You Overcome It?

My biggest fear is not being able to write. I fear waking up one day and not being able to translate my thoughts with words on a page.

And now, it’s over to you lot! What do you think of the above questions?

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

10 Responses to “Know Thyself Challenge: Days 14, 15, 16; I Fear Writer’s Block”

  1. Digressing for a moment: test run for cake making/decorating? Does that mean you have extra cake at your house for birthdays? Sounds like the place to be! Happy day after birthday (my daughter’s fabrication) to all of you!

    Like

    • Thanks! 🙂 Yep – there was spare cake. But only for about an hour or so, lol. I had never made a butterfly cake before so I wanted to get the mistakes out the way – turns out it was a lot easier than I thought! Thank God for youtube videos is all Im saying! 🙂 )

      Like

  2. post-happy-birthday, sounds like fun!
    On to the questions. 14: keep flailing away. I throw anything at the page, eventually I hit on something that sparks my interest. I am afraid of getting hit by writers block somewhere in the middle of whatever I am currently working on. 15: Influences. There are a few. Cherie Priest, Terry Pratchett, Hiyao Miyazaki. 16: see the end of #14. That is the worst feeling. I hit that point with my second novel. I just dropped it and moved on to something else. I do not know if I will finish it.

    Like

    • Hmmm, I always think this way with my WIP. It’s been a few days since I’ve looked at it and I’m afraid I’ll just give up on it. I dont want to give up but that’s whats going through my head.

      Like

      • At times, a short break from a WIP is ok. I feel that setting it aside restores a little bit of my objectivity, for second/third rounds of editing. For instance I am letting one novella brew on my desk while I work on the next one. When I am ready to start prepping the first for publication I hope that I will be reading it again almost like it is the first time. Which ought to let me find and fix minor issues as well as seeing large story problems.

        Like

      • Yep, the perfect formula. Stephen King does this – he lets his first draft sit for 3 months before the edit. I wish I could remove my backspace button because that is the bane of my writing existence!

        Like

      • Do you have a screwdriver? One quick flick of the wrist, and bye-bye backspace 🙂

        Like

  3. Roger Simon says “Why should I get writer’s block, my father doesn’t get truck driver’s block.”
    To me there are two writer’s blocks – when you can’t think of aplot to start a story. I personally have only thought a small handful of plotlines in my entire life, but lucky for me I haven’t managed to finish any of those stories anyway! The other writer’s block is when you know the plot but you just aren’t writing. I would suggest this type of writer’s block everyone gets – when a driver gets truck driver’s block he is probably sitting in the diner having one more plate of eggs instead of driving the truck like he knows he’s supposed to.
    Most influence? Not sure. I feel trepidation when I read bad writing, thinking I might write like that, then I feel trepidation when I read good writing thinking I will never write like that.
    And that is my biggest fear: that I am a lousy writer and don’t know it. All the lousy writer’s I’ve read proabably think they are good at it.

    Like

    • I think you’ve summed it up in the last sentence: ‘All lousy writers probably think they are good at it’.
      Feedback is so important – we all need a good critique every now and then to keep us on track. I’d be happy to read some of your work 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

