Know Thyself Challenge: Day #6; The Most Rewarding Aspect Of Being A Writer

And so here we are, day 6 of this exciting month-long challenge brought to you by Writer’s Relief. The questions so far have been quite cathartic – I’ve really had to stop and think about how to answer them. Case in point: todays question:

What do you find to be the most rewarding aspect of being a writer?

I’m actually rather stumped on this question. Not because I don’t know the answer but because there are so many different aspects of writing that are ALL rewarding in themselves.

Let me list my top 3 rewarding aspects:

    1. The ability to create worlds that I control – in a way, playing God. This is almost a fascination for me; always was. My upbringing has a lot to do with this. It gives me a sense of purpose (sounds a little creepy….!)
    2. I feel so good about myself when I am able to express exactly what I am feeling with words. I can write an email of epic proportions that can leave a person wanting more. I can bang out a poem at a moments notice. When I sit back and read the finished product, sometimes I can’t believe I wrote it! (excuse me while I go and deflate my head a little…..)
    3. Research. I love love love doing the research part of story writing. I learn so much from researching – whether it’s places, era’s, a certain race, an illness…..whatever it is that creates a person. An interesting story. It can be an enormous distraction though.

And that’s only the very tip of the iceberg. I’m afraid that if I were to start listing all rewarding aspects I’d fall asleep at my laptop. And given that it’s 10.15pm, I can tell you now – I wouldn’t disappoint.

But before I go, tell me; What is it about writing that makes you feel alive?

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

4 Responses to “Know Thyself Challenge: Day #6; The Most Rewarding Aspect Of Being A Writer”

  1. It is most rewarding to me to hear well thought constructive criticism because that tells me the reader read the story, they thought about what they have read and they are now at the point where they would like to make a connection and let me know their thoughts. Being able to create something and the prospect of putting it out for public review can be terrifying. For every 1 thoughtful critique there could be dozens of thoughtless ones. But I view writing as my form of artistic expression. I write to create and when I receive feedback on it, then I know I have succeeded.

    Like

    • This is why I never showed anyone my work – I was too fearful of the critique. But feedback is so important – I’ve only learned that through experience 🙂

      Like

  2. The most rewarding part of writing for me is being able to get my thoughts down on paper. I have so much going round my head most of the time, it’s like setting those little snippets free 🙂

    Xx

    Like

    • Yes, I agree, I’m the same. I’ve always got words swanning around in my head – it can get quite noisy sometimes!. It’s a huge relief once they’re out! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

