Know Thyself Challenge: Days #4 and #5; Reading For Inspiration

Today I am back on the Know Thyself Challenge wagon after my wee hiatus yesterday to blog with the Insecure Writer’s Group. As I missed yesterday’s question, I thought I’d bung it together with today’s – an amalgamated challenge. So, the questions are:

1. What tends to serve as the most reliable source of inspiration for you?

and

2. What do you hope a reader will take away from your writing?

Actually, both questions go hand in hand for me. I am mostly inspired by other people. Chance encounters with people who could potentially read my novel(s). I want them feeling inspired after they finish reading my novel(s). And so on and on it goes. Like a magical circle of readership and inspiration.

What inspires you? And what do you want your reader to take with them after they’ve finished your story?

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

3 Responses to “Know Thyself Challenge: Days #4 and #5; Reading For Inspiration”

  1. You’ve only gone and won ANOTHER award! The Reader Appreciation Award – http://davidmcgowanauthor.com/2012/06/06/the-reader-appreciation-award/ – CONGRATULATIONS!

    Like

  2. The most reliable source of inspiration is other people’s work. Whether it is literature or film or art (webcomics, illustrations or physical sculpture), I generally can’t be stuffed with television, I find all sorts of neat ideas, notions and thoughts that become my own. I try not to lift directly from their work, because it is after all their work and I want to create something of my own. What would I like a reader to take away from my work…A sense of “that was time well spent.” Some thoughtful reflection on a theme if I addressed one in the story, and most certainly some kind of emotional response. I hope that my writing, though completely simple, can touch a person and make them feel a variety of emotions as the story unfolds.

    Like

Leave a Reply

