Insecure Writer’s Support Group Day

Today I want to introduce you all to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. I’m not sure how many of you are aware of this; I came across it a couple of weeks ago and couldn’t wait to start participating. The founder of this group is blogger and author Alex J. Cavanaugh, go over and take a look. The purpose of this group is to write a post on your writing insecurities – doubts, concerns – without feeling or appearing foolish. Basically, a veritable no holds barred on how crappy you might be feeling about your work. It’s to be posted on the first Wednesday of every month and this here is my numero uno! Prepare yourselves for a vent!!

I’ve not been feeling very motivated to write. I’m really not sure why – I can’t give any reason. All I know is that I haven’t touched my WIP in over a week. It makes me feel like a hypocrite, especially when my first and latest interview (over at The View Outside) was all about writing and my WIP!

I’ve been reading other writing blogs, they all talk about how many words they’ve written (always in the thousands!) and here’s my puny piece of puny crap. Yes, I’ve hit the 1,000+ words mark but still. And I know I shouldn’t compare myself to anyone else. But still. I want to be better. I want to write. I want to write. I want to write.

My last post was about receiving the best piece of advice – which was Keep Writing, no matter what – so what do I do? I don’t write.

My gripe today was about not wanting to write. Well, I do want to write I’m just not. I know this won’t last. I know it’s a passing phase and by the end of the week I will tune into my muse and start chugging away on the keyboard again.

I think I may just take that great advice on board. I know I don’t really want to but I think I’ll just keep writing.

I’d like to offer a shoulder to anyone else who is feeling like this today. If you want to have a vent – vent away! Either on here or on your own blog. I’ll try to help if I can 🙂

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

14 Responses to “Insecure Writer’s Support Group Day”

  1. Awwwww, honey, firstly, well done for joining IWSG 🙂 I find it really helps to have that one day, once a month, to have a bit of a meltdown moment 😉

    And secondly, I HEAR YOU!!!! I haven’t touched my WIP for a week today *pouts* and I’m not sure why lol. I am still writing every day though, and hey, look, you are too…..your blog! 🙂 Writing doesn’t always have to be writing fiction does it? It’s about the need to get the words out, and that’s exactly what you’re doing 🙂

    I’ve learnt not to be so hard on myself. Yeah, I’m disappointed if I don’t achieve as much as I’d liked in a week, but, there’s no time limit is there? No pressing deadline (well, there may be in the future, but not for me at the moment lol).

    Do something nice for yourself, find something inspirational to do, go sit somewhere nice and free write what you see, smell, hear. Chin up hon, this time will pass 🙂

    Now, I’m off to follow my own advice lol 😉

    Xx

    Like

    • I found this through your blog actually, I clicked on the banner on your site (I should have mentioned that, although I did just remember! lol) and I thought it is SUCH a good idea! I mean, really, how many times can you honestly say you feel insecure about your writing. Me? Oh, about a zillion times a day! It’s nice (kind of) to know that I’m not the only one, even though I don’t like the idea of anyone else going through this frustrating period.
      Here’s to us venting away! 🙂 xxx

      Like

  2. You know what, don’t put too much stock in word counts. I try not to, because I see folks piling words on faster than fast, and you know some of those words HAVE to be questionable. Or more likely, they are in a different situation than you. For instance would it be fair to compare yourself in terms of volume against a college student? From what I have gathered reading your blog, you have a full and busy life and you must allow yourself to recognize that fact. I would love to be able to belt out a novel’s worth of words in a month, but in reality, with all the constraints it is more like a short story. But a darn good one, because I found all the GOOD words, especially on the good days. Remember everyone writes differently, and throw some words around just beacuse! And Vikki’s point about writing your blog counting, is well taken. I find your posts to be thoughtful and useful. Cheers! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Steven, knowing that helps. I suppose in a way its the urgency of wanting to write – just getting anything down on paper is better than nothing. But I have been stalling for many many years and now that I found myself again, I don’t want to stall anymore. I do sometimes forget that those of us with kids, jobs, busy lifestyles are very limited on time…… 🙂

      Like

  3. What Vikki and Steven said. Don’t let your fear of stalling again castigate you for a natural lull while ideas are simmering on the back burner. You ARE writing…sometimes it’s just about getting through the words that are in the “pipeline” so that you can get to the good stuff once the clog is cleared. Give yourself permission to feel whatever you feel, and then still keep writing!

    Like

    • You’re right Margarita. Sometimes we are just too hard on ourselves; this is something that has stood out at me since I started blogging. I should just let myself free write. I guess I’m so hell bent on working on my WIP that I get tunnel vision. Not always a good thing, from the looks of things 🙂

      Like

      • So sit there in the tunnel for a second…what do you see? What is feeding you? What are you feeling? Is that what you want to bring to your WIP? My guess is by now you’re [mentally] screaming “Get me outta here!” Remember, all channels lead to your WIP! Be open…:)

        Like

      • It’s 8.14 in the morning and I’ve just had a flash of ‘ohhhhhh, I get it!’ 🙂
        Channel everything into my WIP – good and bad. I just needed to look at it differently. Thank you Margarita, 🙂 – this has helped me immensely! I hope I can repay the favour 🙂

        Like

      • Yes! Don’t judge, just use your experiences and write! 😉

        Like

  4. I know how you feel. Probably every writer does. I’ve been writing a lot lately, but that’s mostly because I’m doing CampNaNoWriMo. The months before that were pretty dry. There are all sorts of writing exercises you can do to try to break through it (try to write 500 words a day on anything, rewrite a scene you’ve already written but from a different angle, etc.) but to be honest, I never do any of that. The only thing that really works for me is to put writing on my To Do list.

    (Also, and this is a pretty cheap trick, for awhile my signature on one of the forums I frequent was something like: “6/5/2012. If this date is more than a few days ago, tell me to work on my book!”)

    Like

    • It’s all about discipline isn’t it. I try to do writing exercises but when I do I’m thinking ‘if you’re writing this then you should be working on your book!’. I’m just too hard on myself!
      Yeah, that’s a good idea – get people to keep tabs on my progress, sometimes boundaries is all we need 🙂

      Like

  5. Hi Virginia. Welcome to the group. I am fairly new to writing and blogging and my goal for the first year was to be consistent. To write consistently. I found for me being apart of things like A-Z Challenge,Writer Wednesday Blog Hop and now Junowrimo have been super motivating and helped me with this goal. . It is just fun to be able to go online at anytime and know that someone is working toward the same goal you are in a specific challenge. But, I still have my days. Just keep at it. When the words flow, make sure you take advantage of that time and when they don’t just accept it as your process. The words will come back. BTW, I really like you blog.

    Like

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by and reading, I appreciate it. I’m so glad I found this group – it’s truly therapeutic to know I have a welcoming place to vent my frustrations and that I may be able to help someone who needs to have a vent too.
      Thank you so much 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

