Know Thyself Challenge Day #3: What’s The Best Advice You’ve Ever Received?

Since I started blogging, I have a filled an entire notebook with advice from different bloggers but the general consensus is: KEEP WRITING.

Bad writing? Check. Good writing? Check. Mediocre? Stupid? One word? I-cant-believe-I’ve-written-this-crap? DO IT.

It’s hard to maintain momentum when what you’ve written belongs in the rubbish. Case in point; my current WIP has been rehashed to heaven and back. And I did write through my crap moments. It was the hardest thing to do. Normally, when I write, I get on a roll – the words form sentences; they form paragraphs and I can’t stop. However when I write crap, I write word. For. Word. No. Flow. Utter. Crap.

But then suddenly, a crap word makes sense. It will stick out like a sore thumb. Natural brainstorming takes shape and then bam! Something magical will happen.

And only because I’ve KEPT WRITING.

What’s the best advice you’ve received?

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

12 Responses to “Know Thyself Challenge Day #3: What’s The Best Advice You’ve Ever Received?”

  1. I’ve written almost 2000 words today! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Best advice: Everyone writes differently, do not expect that your writing will look/read just like another person’s. Find your own voice and go with it. Of course the keep writing is excellent too. I use that a lot. Especially with time constraints (ala your last post). I would rather put something down that may be garbage and fix it later, rather than sitting around dithering about if it should be there or not. Rough draft is rough draft, editing is editing. Do not try to do too much of one in the other.

    Like

    • That makes a ton of sense. And it’s very true. I just wish I didn’t expect every word I type to be the perfect one. This is what holds a lot of writer’s back. It’s a curse just as much as it is a gift!

      Like

  3. From Shakespeare: “This above all else, to thine own self be true.” Or something like that!

    Like

  4. Best advice I’ve received: If you’re not enjoying writing it, people won’t enjoy reading it.

    Like

  5. The bestest bestest advice EVER πŸ™‚

    Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

