Know Thyself Challenge Day #2: Writing Weakness

Today’s question on the Writer’s Relief Know Thyself 30 Day Challenge is:

What is your biggest writing weakness, and what do you think you need to change to work on it?

Ooohh…..how long you got??? I’d say my top writing weakness would be not making enough time to actually write. I guess I could blame the kids, social life, family time etc yadda yadda but to be honest I do have a schedule. I do try to dedicate at least 2 hours a night to writing but sometimes this is well and truly unrealistic.

Hands up if you’ve got young kids. How do you work around that? Not everything goes according to schedule. Yes, we have a routine but I’m on my own in the afternoons/early evenings so by the time I’ve gotten them ready for bed, I’m almost ready for bed too! Which is why I write in bed now. Add to that, I’m an avid reader. Add to that I like to unwind with some tv a couple of nights a week. If I stay up later than 1am I’m buggered the next day.

Sooooooo.

In order for me to change this? The kids need to grow up a little more. Be more self-sufficient. Until then, I must be stricter on myself otherwise I will waste another 20 years ‘writing’ my WIP. Can’t have that. Not again.

What do you consider your greatest writing weakness? Do you have any tips on how to overcome it?

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

16 Responses to “Know Thyself Challenge Day #2: Writing Weakness”

  1. My weakness is giving myself permission to write. So I’m learning to kind of let it sneak up on me, jot things down, write on the subway, and like that…one step at a time!

    Like

    • What an indulgent weakness! 🙂

      Like

      • Hmmm, I’m not sure what that means…perhaps I didn’t express clearly that giving myself permission for the indulgence of writing, while important, is difficult. So the weakness is that I usually deny the necessity to nourish myself. Finding the strength to indulge in an activity that is not a luxury is a challenge! Thanks for forcing me to clarify!

        Like

      • Ah ok, the way I saw it is that you indulge in your writing – a nice indulgence. I think we’ve had a teeny miscommunication – it’s all good 🙂

        Like

      • Yes, very good. Since writing is all about communication, what a wonderful exercise in making sure our intention is, indeed, what is being received. Thank you! And, yes, writing is a very nice indulgence…more importantly, it is the main course, not the dessert, for our Soul!

        Like

      • I hear you on that one! And wholeheartedly agree! 🙂

        Like

  2. The two most destructive of mine come to mind – one) procrastination – because I’m always afraid that nothing will come when I open that waiting word file, and two) stopping when it does start to come, and I’m so happy that I want to go back and read what I’ve just written again, and then go and bask in my success, instead of writing more.

    Like

    • Yes, I can relate to that. I’d love to just be able to forget the edits, spellchecks and all the rest till I’ve finished, thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

  3. I don’t have kids, but I do have trouble finding time to write. It’s not easy! Other than that, I’d say letting myself finish a draft without extensive editing and rewriting.

    Like

    • yes….see my reply to the first comment. I’m too obsessed with getting it right the first time. At this rate I’ll never finish the first draft! 🙂

      Like

  4. (Okay, I admit. I have no clue what a Pingback is other than linking to another site. Thank you though!) I usually write after everyone else has gone to bed. My siblings are professional noise makers and our puppy thinks he’s a human child as well. I set a weekly goal for my writing before I began writing my current manuscript and it’s turned out surprisingly well! Good luck with your writing!

    Like

    • Yes, you’re right, a pingback is like a notification when someone links your blog to theirs (did that make sense, lol). I do write after everyone has gone to bed too, not always but it’s probably what I do most. Otherwise it’s trying to squeeze in whenever I can. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your manuscript 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you! 🙂 I find that I have trouble trying to focus when my siblings are up and about and I’m the only one in the house that is watching them.

        Like

  5. Time is a constraint for me. Though I would not label it as my greatest weakness. I’ll hit the time situation in a minute. My greatest weakness is technical ability, you know Grammar. I feel foolish admitting this, but I went to college and my chosen major was English Education, Secondary. Yes, I wanted to be an English Teacher for grades 6-12. Let the record show, I wanted to teach literature. In reality my weakness is inexcusable. It is like a Mathematician who can’t add. What do I do to get better? Well, I turned on all of MS-Word’s helper features to flag grammatical errors. Which is weak-sauce at best.

    The most effective way I have found to combat this weakness is to write as much as I can, and submit it for review by other writers. Most times, I get phenomenal feedback. I pay particular attention to grammar notes. I read them, study them, commit them to memory. Then I try not repeat them. Or at least be able to recognize them when I make that mistake again, and correct it before sending off to the group.

    Time. Sigh. Yes, with a family it is incredibly hard to carve, whittle or cajole time. Between work, wife, son, their activities/intrests, my activities/interests, getting enough rest(HAH!) it comes down to making hard choices. Do I run 5 miles or cut it short to write? Do I sleep an extra half hour or get up early to write? Where do you make the trade offs? I am fortunate that I work with computers, and so during lunch/regular breaks, instead of getting up from my desk, I spend the time writing. a few words here, a hundred or so there.. It adds up.

    Like

    • Yeah, you’ve hit the nail (as usual). I have that same thought process…..do I stay up an extra hour even though I’m tired? Do I not clean the house/run those errands to stay home and write while I have the house to myself? I mean, this is everyday. Even when my youngest is at pre-school and I have the entire day to myself, there is always something to do (I tend to NOT do anything housework related on those days!). It does add up and it’s frustrating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

