Guest Post #7 – Tonya Kerrigan ‘Tonya Kerrigan’s World’

So, last day of Guest Post Week. Can’t believe how quickly its come around. My lucky last guest blogger is none other than Tonya Kerrigan from Tonya Kerrigan’s World, an inspirational blog from another inspirational woman juggling the joys of kids, work, life and writing. Go over and take a look, I’m sure she will encourage you just as much as she does me!

Take it away Tonya!

1/ What Inspired You To Write Your Current WIP/Published Work?

I have always been a voracious reader. Ever since I was very young, I could easily sit down and get lost in a book. For years, I was happy just to read.  The thought of writing never once entered my mind. In fact, I didn’t really care to write when I was in school.  It wasn’t until a few years ago when I got caught up in the urban fantasy craze that I thought about writing. It wasn’t so much of a “I’m going to write a book,” but more of a “I wish I could write a book,” but I didn’t have a clue of what to do, where to start, what to write about…nothing. I always marveled at how people could take an idea and twist it around to make it their own. I never thought of myself as a creative person and didn’t think I could do that. The more I thought about it, though, the more I wanted to give it a try. I started out by doing some free online writing classes and that got my creative juices flowing. I also did a lot of research on writing and how to do it. One thing I discovered is that because I’m a notorious daydreamer and can envision entire conversations and scenarios as if they’re happening, it made it easier to write. So, after a couple months of that then one day it hit me…It started out as one of my random daydreams while folding laundry. As I was sitting there it occurred to me, “Oh my God! I can make this into a story!”  So I grabbed a notebook and started writing notes about my characters, their backstories and so on.  I started writing the second week of November 2010 and finished my first draft in February of 2011.  Since that time I’ve been revising and making it better. I can see how I’ve grown as a writer just looking over what I originally had compared to what I have now.

2/ If There Is Anything You Could Do Differently With Your Writing, If Given The Chance, What Would It Be?

Probably the only thing I would have done differently is attended a writer’s group. We are our own special breed and it helps to have others assisting you down your journey. Other than that, I don’t think there’s necessarily anything I would have done differently. I’m the type of person where I have to research something before I start it; I can’t jump in with both feet. After that, then I had to do it. Once I started writing, it pretty much just flowed out.  After I started revising, I worked more on craft than writing alone. It’s taken me a long time to write this first book, but that’s because I kept growing as a writer. I also had to really learn who my characters were and gain my “voice.”

3/ You Have An Auditorium Full Of Aspiring Writers – What Is The One Most Important Piece Of Advice You Would Give Them?

Get a good critique partner. This can take some time, because you want someone who is going to be impartial to your story and not look at it as something they would write. Everyone writes differently. Everyone has their own voice, so make sure you find someone who understands that.

Tonya, thank you so much for being a part of the series! Make sure you go and check out her wonderful blog 🙂

And I’d like to give a HUGE thanks to everyone again who participated this week, I have had so much fun getting to know all 7 of you a little better :). I really do hope these wonderful and talented bloggers/writers have helped to inspire and encourage you on your writing journey.

Is there a particular guest blogger you have learned from this week? Any bit of advice that you will be able to apply to your writing process? 

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

4 Responses to “Guest Post #7 – Tonya Kerrigan ‘Tonya Kerrigan’s World’”

  1. Thanks so much Vee! I’ve really enjoyed taking part and reading other people’s answers to your fabulous questions!

    Like

  2. Thank you for letting me guest post. I enjoyed reading everyone else’s responses. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

