Guest Post #3 – William Stadler ‘Stadler Style’

Day 3 of our Guest Post Week has arrived – I hope you have enjoyed the series so far. Today we have William Stadler from Stadler Style and I’m so excited that he agreed to be interviewed. I have followed his blog from the very beginning and I have a habit of printing out his ‘Tip’ posts to refer to – he publishes the best tip posts! New or established writers please heed my call…..Visit his blog! It will not disappoint!

Ok, so here is the interview. Enjoy 🙂

1/ What Inspired You To Write Your Current WIP/Published Work?

This is such an interesting question. I’ve always enjoyed writing. I can remember back in second grade whenever we’d have writing assignments, and the teacher would give us six or seven lines to fill in. I’d use those seven lines, and then I’d turn the sheet over and fill up half of the back.

I wrote short stories in sixth grade, and my teacher used to give me a few minutes before class to read the story aloud, but after that, I didn’t write extensively again for over fifteen years (except for a poetry phase).

But then something crazy happened. Steve Jobs died. I’m not typically bothered by the death of a celebrity, but Steve Job’s death really got to me. I started reading some of his quotes, and one said, “Set a goal, and work at it everyday.”

Now I’ve heard that philosophy all my life, but something about that instance really got me thinking. But that wasn’t enough. I was suffering from a mild depression just because of the lack of a job, so I decided to see a counselor. After two visits, I realized that counseling wasn’t for me, but he said something to me that stuck.

He said, “You should probably start writing.” What he meant was for me to start journaling, but I tried that years ago, and it just wasn’t my style. However, I did begin a story — a story that has progressed into two books and the start of a third, and it spurred constant research into the art of writing.

So Steve Job’s final words about working at your dream everyday, fused with my counselor’s advice, have materialized a writing passion within me. Because this has been so liberating, I have developed an inner desire to see people write. That’s why I enjoy editing so much!

2/ If There Is Anything You Could Do Differently With Your Writing, If Given The Chance, What Would It Be?

Let me first answer this question in regards to my WIP. The first novel was a shot in the dark. I didn’t think that I could write a novel. I mean, the most I’d ever written was 30 pages, double-spaced. And let me tell you, that was tough.

With my WIP, I just started writing. I had no idea where I was going, I just knew what my world was like. This literary meandering has proven to have its disadvantages.

I’ve altered Book 1 so many times, and there’s so much more that needs to change. That said, I feel like it’s one or two edits away from where I need it to be, but I’ve edited it probably ten times already.

Part of that edit consisted of me literally wiping out an entire people group and replacing them. That was tough because I had already written many chapters with the first people group in mind.

After that edit, however, the book took off. Subplots erupted from the new people, and the novel adopted more of a unique personality. It was a learning experience, but at least I was writing.

Book 2 has very few edits because I planned every scene. Each chapter was timed succinctly, and I made sure every scene contained evidence of the book’s premise.

3/ You Have An Auditorium Full Of Aspiring Writers – What Is The One Most Important Piece Of Advice You Would Give Them?

Keep writing! Everyday should be a writing day, even if that means that you are just thinking about writing. There are some days when I don’t write, but I’m always thinking about writing.

Creating a habit of staying focused will only exercise the talent. What a lot of writers don’t want to accept is that writing has to be developed. We assume that because we have a natural talent, we can just whip out the talent whenever we choose.

This is absurd. We have to develop our literary muscle, and if we don’t, then we’ll be using the same words, phrases, and descriptions. We have to read other people’s works, and we need to be sure that we are concentrating on the craft as much as we can.

I know that I’m supposed to only suggest the most important thing, but this next thought is along lines of my first point. You have to put the writing down sometime. Go out with your friends. Enjoy life! It’s the reason that we write in the first place.

I know that I was having trouble balancing life / writing because all I wanted to do was to write. But I love my family and friends, and I can’t ignore them. Writing is hobby or a career at best; it should never be your life.

William, thank you so very much for being a part of this series. Again, I repeat, please head over to his site – a very informative and inspiring site at that!

Tune in tomorrow for my next victim. Sfbell09 you’re up! 🙂

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

9 Responses to “Guest Post #3 – William Stadler ‘Stadler Style’”

  1. So true about forming a writing habit. I spent too many years telling myself I wanted to write and could write, but always put other things first so I could put writing off. About setting goals – I do that in my writing, but it doesn’t always have to be getting to the end. I figure out partial plots and have a place in my mind and see how I get there – I regularly surprise myself! It also helps me to enjoy writing, and that’s the most important thing of all!

    Like

  2. Thank you! My own experience reflects what William says: work at it every day, even when you’re not actually writing, focus on it, think about it, and then, seemingly suddenly, you’re writing! Please forgive my ignorance, what is a WIP?

    Like

    • Hi Margarita 🙂 WIP stands for Work In Progress 🙂
      I agree too. I have a busy household – even though I have a writing schedule it’s not always that easy to maintain it with small kids. I do find though that the more I think about my WIP, when I do get down to writing I write quicker with a lot more volume. Then, the more I write the quicker the ideas come. It’s a fantastic feeling 🙂

      Like

      • Thank you! And it’s important for you to make time for writing because that’s one of the things (I’m guessing) that nourishes you. Without nourishment, you can’t nourish your family. So remember, it’s not a luxury to take care of yourself – your whole family depends on that! 🙂 (Not preaching, just sharing my experience!)

        Like

      • Thanks! 🙂 Yes, it does nourish me, and you’re right, I shouldn’t feel guilty at all. I try not to but you know what’s its like when you have kids lol. You’re not preaching at all!! 🙂

        Like

      • Yes, I do know what it’s like, that’s why I am a reminder! 🙂

        Like

  3. Hey! I don’t think i ever saw this post. Thanks, Virinia!

    Like

  4. Hey! I don’t think I ever saw this post. Thanks, Virigina!

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on William Stadler and commented:
    Here’s a guest post I did some time ago. It may be of interest to new writers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

