Guest Post #2 – David McGowan ‘The Hunter Inside’

Today’s interview is with David McGowan, a recently published author and blogger from The Hunter Inside (which is also the name of his novel). I urge you to visit his site; a very inspirational man indeed! Oh, and don’t forget to click on the links at the end of the post 🙂

Here we go:

1/ What Inspired You To Write Your Current WIP/Published Work?

My current work in progress is titled ‘From the Sky’. It is a tale of a group of people in a small town in Northern California and their quest across a large distance on a mission (are they escaping or heading towards something?) when visitors arrive from the sky. It is an exploration of landscape, characters and their relationships and internal landscapes. It will have my customary twists along the way of course, and is much more ambitious than my début novel, The Hunter Inside, as it will have a vastly larger cast and will take place over a wider area. It is inspired by one of my favourite novels, The Stand by Stephen King, although I haven’t read The Stand in over 15 years! I have a brand new copy waiting for me on my bookshelf and am itching to re-read it, but don’t want to worry that I’m rewriting it! It is the characterisation that sticks in my mind from the first time I read it, and it is this clarity of character that I wish to develop in my cast. Other things that inspired this work are movies like Close Encounters of the Third Kind and War of the Worlds others from that genre. I always wanted to write a novel about visitors from another world and a cast of different types of characters undertaking a pilgrimage, so I’ve rolled the two into one and there are some huge scenes in the writing. I’ve currently written around ten thousand words and have the plot outlines in place to hopefully have me up to about the forty thousand word mark by the end of June 2012. I am tentatively hoping to release From the Sky before the end of 2012, and am already considering my cover design!

2/ If There Is Anything You Could Do Differently With Your Writing If Given The Chance, What Would It Be?

I am quite happy with how my writing skills are developing at the moment. I think it is important to have structured plot notes to aid in the process of building your story like building blocks around the main frame of the plot, and I also consider it very important to closely examine the lives, hopes and dreams and past of your main characters so that you know them long before you introduce them to your reader. I have struggled in the past with my descriptive prose and I suppose that is where I am going to learn with From the Sky, as it will definitely challenge me to develop in that area. My début novel, The Hunter Inside, is very plot driven and a real page-turner, concerned more with the direct actions of the characters and is played out at a very fast pace – 100,000 words covers less than a two-day period, but it’s a roller-caster ride from beginning to end. I want to explore the characters deeper in From the Sky and really bring them to life.

3/ You Have An Auditorium Full Of Aspiring Writers – What Is The One Most Important Piece Of Advice You Would Give Them?

As a self-published, or Indie, author who also works full-time, I would say that, no matter what your day throws at you, no matter how tired you might be, no matter how many things need to be done at home, and no matter how much you just want to chill out on the sofa after a hard day at work, you have to put one foot in front of the other and get yourself into your study. Once you’re there and the computer is on in front of you, it doesn’t matter if what you write is rubbish. Just write something. If you don’t have a study, use your kitchen table. If you don’t have a kitchen table then write with your laptop on your knee on the sofa. It is all about establishing routine and being consistent, and once you have that routine and consistency, you’ll wonder what you ever did before. Make an hour in your day, and you will write more than you think. An hour isn’t much – do it while dinner is cooking, get up an hour early, write in your lunch hour at work or on your daily commute. Even two half hour sessions will make a massive difference. Use your time well, and you will be amazed with the results. I check email and do some of my social networking stuff during my commute, and it turns a dull journey into eye-opening conversations with people who have similar tastes to me. It helps me to connect with possible readers too. Sorry, I guess I was supposed to say one thing! Well, going back to my original statement, the key is commitment. It’s hard, I know as much as anyone, to force yourself to work when you’d rather do something else. But remember, only you can stop you, and only you can write that novel!

David, thank you so much for being a part of this series. I wish you all the best with this and subsequent novels. You deserve it!

Dont forget, click on these links 🙂

 http://davidmcgowanauthor.com/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Hunter-Inside-ebook/dp/B0082KLJO6/ref=cm_cmu_pg__header

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

4 Responses to “Guest Post #2 – David McGowan ‘The Hunter Inside’”

  1. Reblogged this on davidmcgowanauthor.com and commented:
    Thank you Virginia for the great interview! Read about my new novel, The Hunter Inside, and my work in progress, From the Sky here!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Virginia! Looking forward to returning the favour soon!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SCREAM QUEEN OF THE MONTH-JUNE 2012-ROSE McGOWAN « Written in Blood - May 30, 2012

    […] Guest Post #2 – David McGowan ‘The Hunter Inside’ (poetaofficium.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

