Top 5 Desert Island Books

Everyone has one. Is yours locked? As in, no changing no matter how many new good books you read? I’ve read some killer novels in my lifetime but some of them stay put on the shelf. Case in point: Michael Connelly‘s The Poet. I absolutely loved this book. But when I went to re-read it, all I could think about was the ending. I knew the ending. I knew whodunnit. So obviously, my top 5 needs to re-readable. No suspense or thrillers there. No whodunnits.

So, people, I give you my top 5:

1/ A Moveable FeastErnest Hemingway

A memoir about a young writer living in Paris. Need I say more?

2/ The Paris Wife – Patricia McNeil

A semi-fictional account of the before and during years of A Moveable Feast told from Hemingway’s first wifes perspective (though the two books arent formally connected). And I didn’t pick it up because it had Paris in the title. Ok I did.

3/ The Time Travelers Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

Romance is not my favourite genre so the time travel locks it in for me. The concept seems far-fetched but geez, for a few moments there I actually thought it was possible. It’s a shame the movie was crap.

4/ The BFGRoald Dahl

Ahhh….my favourite childhood book. I’ve read it a few times as an adult and it is still entertaining. My kids will read it too. I’m not one to force my opinions on them but this is non-negotiable.

5/ Any book by Kathy Reichs that I have not read.

Ok, so this might be called cheating but I have loved all her books I’ve read so far. I am 300% positive that I will enjoy the one I choose to take with me.

So. There you have it. My no fail desert island book list. What’s yours?

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

2 Responses to “Top 5 Desert Island Books”

  1. Ooooo, that’s hard.

    Wuthering Heights (the only book I’ve ever read more than once).
    The Lord Of The Rings Trilogy (because I’ve never read it and I want to, but can never quite find the time).
    The Writers Book Of Days by Judy Reeves (I take it I’ll have a note book and pen there with me?)
    One of my Fay Weldons (any one I just grabbed from my bookshelf)
    A book on How To Survive On A Desert Island *snigger*

    xx

    Like

  2. *hrrrrnn*.. Choices…
    Much more random than organized but:
    Any 1 book from Cherie Priest’s Clockwork Century series.
    Any 1 book from Terry Prachett’s Discworld novels.
    The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams
    Another Fine Myth by Robert Asprin.
    Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein

    Like

Leave a Reply

