Hey, Watcha Readin’?

When I was a young ‘un I remember my beautiful granddad sitting quietly in his chair, reading. Even though I never used to ask what he was reading I’m pretty sure it was the Bible. He wasn’t an overly religious man but being a strict Greek Orthodox, church was an important part of his upbringing and way of life.

Was he reading it to refresh his memory of how good Christians must live their lives? Or was it purely for entertainment purposes? Did he rely on the sacred passages to help him with decisions when he was unsure about a particular matter? Did he regard the Bible as fundamental education on life?

I guess I’ll never know. But what is a bible exactly? Well, for starters, the word isn’t solely used for describing the collection of ancient sacred texts. Although, when you say The Bible, well, no explanation is needed really. And every religion has its own collection of works. Many families around the world have Family Bibles. Actually, an uncle from one of the many branches of my family has written one.

The definition of the word Bible is as follows (taken from Dictionary.com): any book, reference work, periodical, etc., accepted as authoritative, informative, or reliable: He regarded that particular bird book as the birdwatchers’ bible. (There were another 3 definitions but they all mentioned ‘a collection of sacred texts’. And I wrote that already).

Now, I have been completely immersed in Stephen King‘s On Writing.

I got it on Tuesday and I am almost finished. It is, unquestionably, a brilliant read.

While it probably wont go on my reference pile (it’s not really a ‘reference book’ per se), I believe it will form part of my personal collection of ‘bibles’ especially when that annoying glitch in my head comes knocking. You know, when the inability-to-get-the-words-out monster rears it’s ugly noggin. Each and every time I’m digging into this book (and it’s whenever I have even two measly minutes to spare) I feel this incredible motivation to rush to my laptop and write. You can’t beat that for an encouraging read. I say this with full conviction; Mr King is a tremendously inspiring human being.

Do you have a trusty tome that you like to revert to from time to time? When you feel your writing is getting a little stale? Is there a selection that you choose from? Is it a 50-year-old, dog-eared, take-everywhere-with-you book? Do you display it/them proudly on your bookcase or do you keep it/them on your desk, close by when you’re working – like an inscribed support network jam-packed with words of wisdom?

Come…..Share……

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

7 Responses to “Hey, Watcha Readin’?”

  1. I don’t have one book that is consistent, it seems to change on a regular basis. At the moment it’s Judy Reeves A Writers Book Of Days that is my constant companion, but, also The Writers Idea Book by Jack Heffron 🙂

    I’m sure it will change again soon lol

    Xx

    Like

  2. Like Vikki, I don’t just have one book. Because I write Historical Fantasy I tend to read books in that same genre to learn more about writing style and prose and to further my knowledge Ancient History. My two favourite series I keep referring to are: The Troy Game by Sara Douglass and Troy by David Gemmell. Unfortunately, these authors have passed away. A great loss to literature.

    Like

  3. Most of my ‘bibles’ are in the form of technical books (programming) because of the fast paced, livin’ la vida loca lifestyle that all programmers lead. I have two books from college on writing form and function. Indisputable technical references for writing (in terms of format, style etc.) just about anything. I also have an indispensable book of lists for writers and a how to write a short story that is never far from hand.

    Like

    • I’m on the hunt now for a good how-to book. There are so many on the market. If you have any recommendations throw some my way 🙂 Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

      • Found some good reference books…They may be out of print, but amazon should have something similar. ‘The Modern Writer’s Handbook’ Frank O’Hare. ‘The Random House handbook’ by Frederick Crews, ‘A Basic Grammar of Modern English’ by Bruce L Liles. As for general writing info: ‘The Writer’s Book of Checklists’ by Scott Edelstein, and I still have not found my short story book. Unfortunately my office looks like a bomb went off in it. Anyway, you should be able to find current editions of those title or at least more recent than what I have.

        Like

      • Thanks, am going to the library tomorrow so will be sure to have a look 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

