When You Finally Bite The Bullet

And make the decision to start. Whatever that may be. It’s a good feeling. You see, I have decided that it is time to write my highly anticipated (yet very procrastinated) book. And do you know what motivated me? A quote that I read on Pinterest. It says: What would you attempt if you knew you could not fail? That’s it. A very simple question. And without missing a beat, I knew what I would do. 100%. Write. I would write. It is something that I have always, always wanted to do. I have about 400,000 short stories in a box somewhere that I wrote between the ages of 13 and 18. I read a couple a few months ago and cringed – so much teenage angst. So much sexual tension between the characters……but still quite good considering they were written by an unexperienced teenager. I felt quite chuffed that my mind could produce such work.

I’m 36 now and realising that I’m not exactly a spring chicken I decided to pull the proverbial out and actually try to achieve a dream. I have dedicated the last 8 years to child rearing and whilst my children are still children I can’t exactly leave them to their own devices. However they ARE older now and more capable of entertaining themselves for longer periods so I have no excuse not to start. Actually, I went to the library the other day to do some character research which I really loved. I normally just google it. I took my 3-year-old daughter (let’s call her Elle) who loves going to the library and we made our way to the research centre where I got my hands on a precious book that was published in 1861. I opened it up and you know that book scent? It just wafted towards me…..I love that old book scent. I thought, I need to do this more often. I’ve left my dreams float through limbo for far too long.

So I guess I created this blog as a motivational tool to keep me going. To keep me writing. My ‘cant be bothered’ side is telling me ‘great, another damn thing you’re getting me to do!’. Oh well, tough cookies. If I don’t force myself I’ll end up 98 and regretting it. Don’t want that at all.

Oh and just a final note: My new favourite tv show is Sherlock and I heart Benedict Cumberbatch!

About Virginia

Writer, reader, crossword puzzler and conspiracy theorist.

7 Responses to “When You Finally Bite The Bullet”

  1. Well . . . Good luck from one who has tried, but isn’t a good writer. I think the WordPress template that you have chosen is jolly good.

    Ian Sheppard.

    Like

  2. Thanks Ian. I’m sure you’re a good writer – you may just not have found your niche. It’s taken me since my early teens to do this so don’t give up hope!

    Like

  3. Virginia i am SO with you. I don’t if you read the ‘about me’ type bit on my blog, but I can really emphathise with where you’re at and what you’re doing. I’m following your blog – hope you stay in touch. And thanks for the comment on my blog!

    Like

    • Hi Meg, yes I did read your about bit and it just sounds so similar to me pre kids. I was extremely into my writing – whether it was diarys (in proper paper notebooks in those days!), short stories, poems you name it. Then it was very stop start, much like you, and after I fell pregnant with #1, well it all went a little downhill from there. Then I got a part time job to keep me sane while I was till playing mum and housewife etc etc…..baby #2, same as above etc and then I had my 36th birthday last month and it just blew up in my face. It started with a quote I found on Pinterest and it has snowballed. Starting this blog was the best thing I’ve done this year so will definitely stay in touch. Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

      Like

  4. Sorry just lost what I wrote !! I was saying … I love that quote as well 🙂 I have it stuck on my fridge, all though probably lost at the moment under school “stuff !” Its a shame that “I cant be bothered” voice is so loud in our heads !! Silence it by focusing and following your dreams, it will make you so happy 🙂 Love the blog, very stylish, easy to read and a great idea to motivate you. I look forward to hearing about your progress. xx

    Like

    • Hi Karen, so nice to see you on here! 🙂 Thanks a lot for the comment, it means a lot. I want to try and write at least once a day – especially on this. Then it will feel like Im getting into a habit. Although I really dont want to get complacent about it…..I probably won’t but you know what I mean 🙂 x

      Like

  5. I love your reference to smell when opening the old book. There is something special about the history that really old books represent. I also love the quote, it has meaning to all I think!

    Like

Leave a Reply

